3106 Posts in 506 Topics - by 54 Members - Latest Member: Terrordactyl

Author Topic: Changing Domains  (Read 2517 times)

LordReaver

  • Administrator
  • Emperor's Champion
  • ********
  • Posts: 1841
  • BLOOD FOR THE BLOOD GOD EMPEROR!
    • lordreaver.com
Changing Domains
« on: August 27, 2011, 11:36:53 AM »
I will be moving the forum over to the new domain the-damned.net later tonight.  When I do it, the forum will be inaccessible for about an hour.

LordReaver

  • Administrator
  • Emperor's Champion
  • ********
  • Posts: 1841
  • BLOOD FOR THE BLOOD GOD EMPEROR!
    • lordreaver.com
Re: Changing Domains
« Reply #1 on: August 27, 2011, 10:08:36 PM »
Transfer is complete.  Welcome To The-Damned.net  :-*

LordReaver

  • Administrator
  • Emperor's Champion
  • ********
  • Posts: 1841
  • BLOOD FOR THE BLOOD GOD EMPEROR!
    • lordreaver.com
Re: Changing Domains
« Reply #2 on: August 27, 2011, 10:20:47 PM »
You may have to re-upload your avatar.  Which I have once again increased size limit to.  It is now 150px.

StoneRhino

  • Administrator
  • Emperor's Champion
  • ********
  • Posts: 1102
  • Minister of Blood: Living on a prayer...
Re: Changing Domains
« Reply #3 on: August 27, 2011, 11:30:28 PM »


Nice, thanks for working that out, it would have taken longer if I went ahead and worked on it myself. Funny thing is you might be able to see my two unsuccessful installs of SMF on the server. I tried to get a test forum up and running after getting hosting, but they forget to tell me a few things.  :D



LordReaver

  • Administrator
  • Emperor's Champion
  • ********
  • Posts: 1841
  • BLOOD FOR THE BLOOD GOD EMPEROR!
    • lordreaver.com
Re: Changing Domains
« Reply #4 on: August 28, 2011, 03:05:44 AM »
Yeah, I noticed those.  Did you use a script (quickinstall, etc) or was it a manual upload?  When you do a manual upload you have to go and make a database, and then link them during the install.

StoneRhino

  • Administrator
  • Emperor's Champion
  • ********
  • Posts: 1102
  • Minister of Blood: Living on a prayer...
Re: Changing Domains
« Reply #5 on: August 28, 2011, 06:38:32 AM »
Yeah, I noticed those.  Did you use a script (quickinstall, etc) or was it a manual upload?  When you do a manual upload you have to go and make a database, and then link them during the install.

I used quickinstall, but the damn thing failed at 13% or less. Not sure how long it would need to reach 14%, but it was pushing half hour.

LordReaver

  • Administrator
  • Emperor's Champion
  • ********
  • Posts: 1841
  • BLOOD FOR THE BLOOD GOD EMPEROR!
    • lordreaver.com
Re: Changing Domains
« Reply #6 on: August 28, 2011, 06:43:01 AM »
That's odd, it should only take at most a minute.  I used it to install WordPress and that worked just fine.

StoneRhino

  • Administrator
  • Emperor's Champion
  • ********
  • Posts: 1102
  • Minister of Blood: Living on a prayer...
Re: Changing Domains
« Reply #7 on: August 28, 2011, 09:24:10 PM »
For some reason I had a feeling word press would have worked just fine. Don't ask for me to explain that. ;D